New Braunfels City Council and local school board seats up for grabs Saturday | Community alert

City council seats, school board trustee positions, constitutional amendments and proposals are on the ballot as voters in Comal County and Guadalupe head to the polls Saturday.

Polling stations are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Any registered voter can vote anywhere on Election Day, regardless of the constituency in which they reside, but must vote in the county in which they are registered.

Seats representing Districts 1 and 2 on the New Braunfels City Council are up for grabs, as incumbents Shane Hines and Justin Meadows have not sought re-election.

Andres Campos-Delgado, regional manager, Jimmy Delgado, business consultant, and Suzanne Kasey Lynn, COBRA specialist, are vying for the District 1 seat.

Christopher Willis and Fabian Dealva are looking for the District 2 headquarters.

New Braunfels ISD fills two general administrator seats and one District 1 administrator seat, while Comal ISD is looking for someone to fill administrator positions for Districts 6 and 7.

There are four candidates vying to fill two of the New Braunfels ISD general administrator seats up for grabs, including incumbent Wes Clark, who has served on the school board since 2013 and currently serves as board chair. Clark joins newcomers Randy Lenard and Megan Stratemann-Willis on the ballot, as well as returning school board candidate Matthew Sargent, who served on the board as a District 4 trustee from 2017-2020.

Outgoing New Braunfels ISD District 1 Administrator Keith Smith is seeking re-election and is challenged by candidate Morgan Renaud for the position.

For Comal ISD District 6, newcomer administrators Amanda Jones and Amber Bracegirdle are seeking to replace current administrator Marty Bartlett, who is leaving after serving a single term.

The Comal ISD District 7 Administrator race has resulted in four candidates vying to fill a vacancy left by Cody Mueller. On the ballot are Orlando ‘OJ’ Dona, Steve Gallets, David Krawczynski, who declared the highest amount of campaign funding of any candidate in the May 7 election, and current educator Kaila Stovall.

Voters will also voice support for or against two state constitutional amendments. Both are tied to property taxes for public schools.

On the ballot, Proposition 1 will read as follows: “The constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to provide for the reduction of the amount of a limitation on the total amount of ad valorem taxes that may be imposed for the purposes of primary general education and public secondary on the home-owned residence of an elderly or disabled person to take account of any statutory reduction from the previous tax year in the maximum compressed rate of maintenance and operating taxes imposed for such purposes on family property.

Proposition 2 will read: “The Constitutional Amendment increasing the amount of the homestead ad valorem tax exemption for public schools from $25,000 to $40,000.”

Voters residing in the proposed Canyon Ranch Municipal Utility District will consider four proposals regarding the establishment of the district, property tax rates and bond issuance.

Voters of the proposed Comal County Water Improvement District No. 3 will consider confirming the creation of the district and electing the district manager.

Garden Ridge voters will choose between Shelby Trail or Kay Bower for the Place 5 seat on city council.

For more information on the May 7 general and special elections or to view a sample ballot, Comal voters can visit and Guadalupe voters can go to

Polling stations open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, May 7

Comal County locations

VC #1 Comal County Senior Center

655 Landa, New Braunfels

VC #2 Mammen Family Public Library, Assembly Room A

131 Bulverde Crossing, Bulverde

VC#3 Tye Preston Memorial Library

16311 South Access Road Canyon Lake

VC #4 ESD Fire Station #4

215 Rebecca Creek Road, Canyon Lake

Lakeside VC #5 Golf Club

405 Watts Lane, Canyon Lake

VC #6 Westside Community Center

2932 S IH 35, New Braunfels

VC #7 Christ Our King Anglican Church

115 Kings Way, New Braunfels

Comal County Offices VC #8, Bulverde Annex, JP Courtroom 2

30470 Cougar Bend, Bulverde

VC #9 Garden Ridge Town Hall

9400 Municipal Drive, Garden Ridge

VC #10 Bulverde/Spring Branch Fire & EMS @ Johnson Ranch

30475 Johnson Way, Bulverde

VC #11 Westside Community Center, gymnasium

2932 S. IH 35, New Braunfels

VC #12 New Braunfels Library, large meeting room

700 E. Common, New Braunfels

Comal County Offices VC #13, Goodwin Annex, Training Room

1297 Church Hill Drive, New Braunfels

VC#14 New Braunfels Christian Church, Fellowship Hall

734 N. Loop 337, New Braunfels

VC #15 Eden Hill, Town Hall

631 Lakeview Blvd., New Braunfels

VC #16 St. Francis by the Lake Episcopal Church, Great Hall

121 Spring Mountain Drive, Canyon Lake

VC #17 North Shore United Methodist Church

23880 N. Cranes Mill Road, Canyon Lake

VC #18 Rebecca Creek Baptist Church

11755 Route 281 N., Spring Branch

VC #19 Gruene United Methodist Church

2629 E. Common, New Braunfels

Guadalupe County locations

VC #1 McQueeney Lions Club, 3211 FM 78, McQueeney

VC #2 Vogel Elementary School, 16121 FM 725, Seguin

VC #3 Seguin ISD Admin Bldg., 1221 E. Kingsbury, Seguin

VC #4 Forest Hills Baptist Church, 8251 FM 1117, Seguin

VC #5 Justice of the Peace Court, Pct 1, 214 Medical Drive, Seguin (formerly located at 2405 E. US Hwy 90, Seguin)

VC #6 Kingsbury United Methodist Church, 7035 FM 2438, Kingsbury

VC #7 Staples Civic Center, 9615 FM 621, Staples, (formerly Staples Baptist Church)

VC#8 Maranatha Fellowship Hall, 2356 S. Hwy. 80 years old, Luling

VC#10 Redemptive Grace Ministries, 2240 FM 725, New Braunfels (formerly Grace Church)

VC #12 Columbus Club of Seguin, 1015 S. Austin Street, Seguin

VC#13 Our Lady of Guadalupe Church Annex, 730 N. Guadalupe St. Seguin

VC #14 Westside Baptist Church, 1208 N. Vaughan Street, Seguin

VC #16 Geronimo Community Center, 280 Navarro Dr, Geronimo

VC #17 Mission St. Joseph, 5093 Redwood Rd., San Marcos

VC #18 The Silver Center, 510 E. Court St., Seguin

VC #19 Central Texas Technology Center, 2189 FM 758, Bldg A, Room 118, New Braunfels

VC #20 Church of the Cross, 814 N. Bauer, Seguin

VC#21 Santa Clara City Hall, 1653 N. Santa Clara Rd., Santa Clara

VC Learning Center #22 Marion Dolford, 200 W. Schlather Lane, Cibolo

VC #23 Schertz Elections Office, 1101 Elbel Rd., Schertz

VC #24 Schertz United Methodist Church, 3460 Roy Richard Dr., Schertz

VC #25 Selma City Hall, 9375 Corporate Dr., Selma

VC#27 Immaculate Conception Catholic Church, 212 N. Barnett Street, Marion

VC #28 Schertz Community Center, 1400 Schertz Parkway, Schertz

VC #29 Guadalupe County Service Center, 1052 FM 78, Schertz

VC #30 Schertz Community Center North, 3501 Morning Dr., Cibolo

VC#31 St. John’s Lutheran Church, 606 S. Center St., Marion

VC #32 New Berlin City Hall, 9180 FM 775, New Berlin

VC #33 NBISD Transportation Bldg, 2621 Klein Way, New Braunfels

VC #34 Cibolo Fire Station #2, 3864 Cibolo Valley Drive, Cibolo

VC#35 Living Waters Worship Center, 3325 N. State Hwy 46, Seguin

Comments are closed.